Biologically, human wellbeing is driven by connections created with other people. Forming strong relationships with friends and family have both been proven to provide value and meaning to our lives, thus increasing our health and happiness. I do believe in the validity of this outlook. However, when it comes to happiness, I also think that there should be equal emphasis based on one’s connection with oneself. These views are the pillars behind my motivation for starting this blog. This may not appear to make any logical sense, and so I have chosen to explain my reasoning through a most underrated medium, the numbered list:

  1. In our modern world, connections are not simply made through physical contact. I have been reading blogs + forums + websites and watching online videos for nearly a decade, and I can attest to the fact that Internet communities and virtual communication can contribute (in their own unique way) to those feelings of connection and belonging that we crave. 
  2. Documenting my thoughts and my life through writing (or any media form) has several personal benefits. It is therapeutic and relaxing, provides an extremely fun creative outlet, and serves as a journal/scrapbook/diary to look back on in the future.
  3. I am going away to study in Barcelona this January, and was intending on starting my blog then with an emphasis on travel and documenting my experiences. But life is short, and I felt like getting a head start. Besides, this blogging thing will probably take some getting used to (hence the present awkwardness).
  4. My mother and best friend aka the “Debs” is my number one fan and online stalker. If even one person will read and appreciate these blog posts, then I’ve already won. And trust me, Debs will read every one of these (love you Mom!)
  5. I am such a hoarder of beauty, lifestyle, fashion, décor and food blogs. I legitimately have two bookmark folders on my computer dedicated to organizing my daily reads (one for beauty + fashion blogs and one for the others). It was about time I started contributing some content.

And with this, I officially welcome you to Megan|Taylored. The name has been chosen because (a) Megan Taylor is my name and (b) I enjoy the pun on the word “tailored,” meaning simple, not elaborate, and having a neat appearance (essentially, I am implying that this blog represents a tailored version of my life, in case that was unclear).

Instead of deciding on a specific theme or direction for blog posts, I will simply let my writing style evolve naturally and write about whatever I want when I feel the need to share it. I should warn that there will probably be a helluva lot about cosmetics (i.e. skin care, body care, makeup), some occasional fashion, entertainment and lifestyle, and a sprinkling of recipes and/or obnoxious pictures of food that I eat.

Talk about a concise intro! Be warned, I never shut up. You’ll get used to it. And now that I have significantly depleted tonight’s sleeping hours, it’s probably a sign that I should say goodbye.

Goodnight,

Megan




Leave a Reply.