Introduction

Mascara is without a doubt my most desert-island makeup product (the one product I would choose, if god forbid I could only have one). I stole my first pink and green tube of Maybelline's Great Lash (original) from my mother's bathroom back in the ninth grade, and was amazed by the drastic difference in my appearance when I simply rubbed some black tar on my eyelashes. Even as a young child, I was aware that my eyes were my best feature (since strangers would always stop my mother in the street to comment on all of her childrens' eyes). Personally, I prefer using makeup as a means of highlighting my better features, rather than trying to conceal all of my "imperfections." Therefore, I always go for disgustingly dramatic lashes - whether I'm going for a fancy nighttime look, a casual daytime look, even if it's the only makeup I put on: there can never be too much lashes. After once buying the famous DiorShow mascara and being rather disappointed (save your dollars), I have cycled my way through several drugstore offerings, mostly from Maybelline (my usual favourites), l'Oreal and Covergirl. Since mascara's are supposed to be switched out every three months, I usually only have one in rotation at a time, and it is typically whatever was new or on sale from those brands at any particular time. I usually go for mascara's that are targeted at volume over length (my lashes are pretty long on their own), though many formulas these days claim that they are able to both lengthen and volumize simultaneously, so those are obviously pretty tempting.
Covergirl first came on my mascara radar when they launched the original LashBlast volume in the orange tube that eventually rose to the mascara hall of fame. Since then, they have released several variations of LashBlast (fusion, length, 24-hour, waterproof), and some other separate mascaras (Clump Crusher, Flamed Out, Lashexact) as well. Their latest launch was Bombshell volume, which is also "by lashblast." This new mascara follows the recent Big Eyes mascara by Maybelline, or the older Haute and Naughty mascara by MAC Cosmetics, in the trend of dual-wand mascaras. Essentially, the concept is nothing new: that two mascara formulations and wands can create supremely dynamic effects when compared to one sole mascara wand/formula. However, while many dual-wand mascaras boast the ability to lengthen and volumize, Bombshell is more focused on providing maximum volume in order to achieve that seductive, bombshell look. Below you can see detailed photographs of both wands, the "base" (1) and "top" (2) coats.
Covergirl's Bombshell mascara by lashblast touts some pretty serious claims:
  • 10x more noticeable lashes vs. bare lashes
  • Extreme volume basecoat + Intensifying top coat
  • Take lashes way beyond big
Flaunt the next big thing in lashes with Bombshell Volume by LashBlast Mascara! The brilliant two-step Bombshell Boost System combines extreme volume with an intensifying top coat for big, sexy bombshell lashes. Step One: Apply the extreme volume basecoat. Step Two: Finish with the intensifying top coat.
Debs (my mother) recently ran out of her Maybelline the Rocket Volum' Express mascara, one of my current favourites, and decided to try out Bombshell (and allowed me to borrow it for review purposes). We purchased it at Target for about $9.99 CAD, though the price will vary depending on which retailer your purchase it from. The mascara is available in four colours: (1) brown, (2) black brown, (3) black, and (4) very black. We picked up very black, as I always go for the blackest mascara I can get. As of now, this mascara does not come in a waterproof formula. 

Something noteworthy: Bombshell mascara comes with 6.6 fl oz (20mL) total, which is double what you get in most high/low-end mascaras (0.33 fl oz is pretty standard). Although this is really a great deal, I don't know if this  means that  this mascara can last you six full months (double the usual mascara lifespan), or if the product still expires just as early. If the latter is true, you're still getting an unbelievable deal, whether or not you buy into the who two-coat hype.

Putting it to the test

1. Pre-mascara

2. (post) Step one: extreme volume base coat

3. (post) Step two: intensifying top coat

In my humble opinion

As you can see, Covergirl's new Bombshell mascara by lashblast does deliver some serious eyelash volume. Is it really 10x more noticeable than bare lashes? I'm not so sure about that. The first wand is remarkably similar to the Rocket Volum' Express by Maybelline, and adds a fair amount of length, volume, and definition. What I don't really understand is the large benefit of the "intensifying top coat." This second smaller, more traditional wand only serves to subtly increase volume, and kind of causes some clumping in the process. Regardless, you're still getting regular-sized quantities of each formula for the price of one, so I can't really complain.
Pros:
  • Value: double the quantity of most mascaras for a competitive low price
  • Formula/quality of product: significant volume, with also a bit of length
  • Wear: didn't flake as much after a day's wear as most of my Maybelline mascaras
  • Packaging: I prefer this packaging to other traditional Covergirl tubes as it can stand fully upright and fits well in most makeup bags
Cons:
  • Convenience: Using both wands can add a fair bit of time to one's makeup routine, so it may not be amazing for super-quick makeup application
  • Didn't really see the significance of the second wand/formula
  • Can be a bit clumpy: so if that's your pet peeve, I would stay away

Overall, I would definitely recommend Bombshell to anyone looking for great volume, versatility or value in a new mascara. I cannot really comment on the mascara's ability to hold a curl, since my lashes are naturally curled up, but I would imagine it performs similarly to most other volumizing, non-waterproof mascaras. If you're very content with your current mascara (as I am), and you're not into experimenting with products for the beauty-junkie sake of it, this mascara is by no means a "must-have," life-changing product. My mother got this tube for herself, and I can't say if I will purchase this in the future, as it depends on whether or not any new releases really intrigue me. Bombshell sure lives up to the majority of its claims, and I commend Covergirl for releasing a super solid dual-wand mascara, that has a true 2-for-1 value. Thanks for reading and best of luck with all of your eyelash endeavours!

“She lowered her lashes until they almost cuddled her cheeks and slowly raised them again, like a theatre curtain. I was to get to know that trick. That was supposed to make me roll over on my back with all four paws in the air.” 
- Raymond Chandler, The Big Sleep
2/4/2024 11:37:03 am

Hemen Göz At: SMS Onay Sepeti

Reply



Leave a Reply.