Happy New Year world! Crazy to believe it's already two thousand and fourteen...time can really fly eh? Personally, when someone refers to 2009, I feel like that was super-recent, but it was actually five years ago (holey moley cakes). This time of year is always very crazy for my family of six, since four of us have our birthdays during the month of December (and one in November, oy). Between Hannukah, exams, all of those birthday, the power outage we had from the 21st to the 25th (ah, Canadian ice storms), and finally New Year's...it's been a pretty crazy month. 

Out of all of the December family birthdays, mine is the last on December 30th; and by then, we're all kind of over birthdays, including myself. Given the holiday-timing of my birthday, I've never really done much to celebrate anyways. Unfortunately, this year I actually felt pretty ill on my birthday, and just in a generally foul mood. So what's a girl to do to lift her spirits? First thing in the morning, it was manicure time.

Glitter & Sparles

In my opinion, deborah lippmann is to nails, what Christian Loboutin is to shoes, or what Diptyque is to candles. Yes, they're rather expensive compared to similar alternatives, but at least they are masters of their craft that deliver consistently original, high-quality, luxurious products that can command such a price tags. Now, I've never actually bough a deborah lippmann nail polish, nor a Christian Loboutin shoe or Dyptique candle, for that matter. Thankfully, my mother has picked up a couple of her glitter shades over the years. I decided to go with Happy Birthday, because (a) it was my birthday, and (b) confetti glitter is most appropriate for New Year's Eve. Unfortunately, after one coat of Happy Birthday, I realized that the polish was a lot more sheer than I had anticipated, so I grabbed Today was a Fairytale, and ended up using two coats of each to reach a decent level of opacity.
I know that I kind of have a glittery mess all over my fingers in the picture, rest assured that this peeled right off my skin (but remained on my nails) after a couple of hand washings. I was very pleased with the end result, and still smile a little to myself every time I catch the light reflecting off of my fingers. Glitter nail polishes tend to have amazing longevity, and on Day 3 (today), there still isn't a chip in sight. If you don't feel like splurging on a deborah lippmann (and I wouldn't blame you), I've used some amazing glitters from OPI and Urban Outfitter nail polish (I kid you not). The only downside is that glitters are a pain to remove, so I recommend using an acetone nail polish removing tub, such as this one from Target.
As much as my birthday was no fairytale, I would argue that 2013 was quite a year of fairytales for me. I couldn't be more excited for my year to come, making Barcelona my temporary home, and having Europe at my fingertips. Here's to hoping the sparkle on my nails metaphorically symbolizes the sparkles in our year to come, and the many fairytales ahead. 



Leave a Reply.