Picture
As previously detailed here, I have a mild addiction and obsession with nail polish. Ever since the tenth grade, I've barely gone longer than 24 hours with bare finger nails. (In fact, I usually remove one colour and immediately re-paint them every 4 or 5 days). After accumulating a disgusting nail polish collection of mostly OPI, some Essie, a couple of Revlon, Sally Hansens and China Glaze, I have refrained from purchasing any additional colours (minus the really occasional cheap buy), since I really have enough to last a decade. However, I can't help it if Debs (mom) decides to purchase the What's Hot Now nail collection by Jenna Hipp at Costco (my family is Costco-obsessed) while I was in Montreal. And I sure don't mind reaping the benefit ;)

If you've ever taken a whiff of a nail polish bottle, it's obvious that there's some mighty chemicals in most of them. After experiencing the harmful effects of frequent exposure to nail polish toxins on set, professional nail stylist Jenna Hipp developed a strong interest in eco-friendly hand and nail care products that are free of hazardous chemicals. Jenna is now known as the "Celebrity Green Nail Stylist", as she combined her love for nail polish, and her passion for healthy living, to develop an exclusive "Five Free" nail polish formula, safe for all of her famous clients. 

Jenna Hipp's Five Free Formula:
  1. Contains no dibutyl phthalate
  2. Contains no formaldehyde resin
  3. Contains no formaldehyde
  4. Contains no toluene
  5. Contains no camphor


You can read more about Jenna's story, explore her product line, see some of her portfolio, or learn some of her professional tips at her website.
Jenna Hipp's nail polishes and hand creams have been receiving rave reviews and lots of hype, yet they're still super affordable! Unfortunately, Ms. Hipp's polishes are not widely available yet, though I suspect that won't last much longer. Jenna has done two collaboration collections with NCLA and RGB, that both are available for purchase online. If you really want to sample a bunch of her colours, then I would recommend the set my mom picked up, available at USA Costco online for $14.99 (Canadians: they should still be in your physical stores). The What's Hot Now nail collection includes 12 mini (0.16 fl oz each) nail lacquers in a variety of colours and finishes, as well as a chevron-patterned nail file.

All About You

All About You is a frosty, metallic true gold that doesn't lead too yellow nor rose. I used my regular base and top coat from my nailcare routine: the Revlon Colorstay formulas. All About Eve shows up very true to colour, but definitely requires two coats to avoid streakiness and develop true opacity. I painted my nails two days ago (and took these pictures this morning). Thus far, I only have one minor chip on my index finger, so I would say that the longevity is pretty impressive. I actually did notice that my nails dried exceptionally fast, so the quick dry label is not lying! 
All in all, I'm very impressive with the variety, value, and quality of the Jenna Hipp What's Hot Now nail polishes. I can't wait to try more of her cream-finish colours, and eventually her Oprah-certified hand creams! Even if these weren't marketed as an eco-friendly, healthy alternative to regular nail polish, I would STILL recommend this to all nail-polish addicts and newcomers! The avoidance of chemicals is just the cherry on top or a really pretty rainbow sunday. Thanks mom!
Debs
12/28/2013 10:02:10 pm

You're welcome. xoxo

Reply



Leave a Reply.